Prohibited Animals in Islam

There are animals which are prohibited to be eaten by Muslim if not in life threaten emergency  :
  1.  Pig or Swine

  2. Rats

  3. Animal which already dead

  4. Animal which kills its prey using hooves, claws or talons

  5. Animal which kills its prey using fangs

  6. Animal which kills its prey using venoms

إِنَّمَا حَرَّمَ عَلَيْكُمُ الْمَيْتَةَ وَالدَّمَ وَلَحْمَ الْخِنزِيرِ

"Indeed, Allah has only forbidden to you dead animals, blood, the flesh of swine." (Quran, Al- Baqarah 173)

نَهَى رَسُولُ اللَّهِ صلى الله عليه وسلم عَنْ كُلِّ ذِي نَابٍ مِنَ السِّبَاعِ وَعَنْ كُلِّ ذِي مِخْلَبٍ مِنَ الطَّيْرِ

"The Messenger of Allah (SAW) prohibited the eating of every wild beast with fangs and every bird with talons."

From a hadith by Bukhari and Muslim, Muhammad (peace be upon Him) said:

خَمْسٌ مِنَ الدَّوَابِّ كُلُّهُنَّ فاَسِقٌ، يُقْتَلْنَ فِي الْحَرَمِ: الغُرَابُ، وَالْحِدَأةُ، وَالعَقْرَبُ، وَالفَأْرَةُ، وَالْكَلبُ العَقُورُ

"All five types of animals are considered sinful, and they can be killed even in the Sacred Land (Haram): the crow, the eagle, the scorpion, the rat, and the aggressive dog."